About Us

Our Mission

The mission of Good Shepherd Food Bank is to eliminate hunger in Maine by improving access to nutritious food for people in need, building strong community partnerships, and mobilizing the public in the fight to end hunger.

Our CORE VALUES guide our work & how we conduct ourselves as we strive to achieve our mission:

  • Partnership: We endeavor to provide the best possible experience to everyone we engage with, basing interactions on a foundation of equity, integrity, and humility.
  • Agility: We promote an organizational culture that encourages new ideas, improvements, flexibility, and innovations, and turns challenges into opportunities.
  • Inclusion: We respect the breadth of life experiences across the communities we partner with, holding people struggling with hunger at the center of our decisions and actions.

Eliminating Hunger in Maine for 35 Years

The story of Good Shepherd Food Bank is one of small beginnings, but of consistent and impressive growth. In 1981, JoAnn and Ray Pike noticed the amount of food being wasted locally and soon after saw a newspaper article about a food bank in Kansas City.

Finding long-term solutions

In addition to distributing food to Mainers in need, the Food Bank is leading a statewide effort to combat the root causes of hunger by engaging in advocacy, nutrition education, and strategic partnerships. We welcome you to join us in this effort!

Current job openings at Good Shepherd Food Bank

When positions are available, they can be viewed here.

Executive Leadership

Kristen Miale – President    kmiale@gsfb.org

Matt Chin – Vice President of Supply Chain mchin@gsfb.org

Erin Fogg – Vice President of Development   efogg@gsfb.org

Kathy Helming – Vice President of Community Partnerships   khelming@gsfb.org

Bryan O’Connor – Vice President of Finance & Administration boconnor@gsfb.org

 

For donations and fundraising inquiries please contact:

Erin Peck Yarema – Director of Major and Planned Giving eyarema@gsfb.org

Ethan Minton – Major Gifts Officer eminton@gsfb.org

Melissa Huston – Major Gifts Officer mhuston@gsfb.org

 

If you would like to host an event or fundraiser, please fill out this form and return it to Julie Guerette, Donor Engagement Manager

 

 

Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

Chair
Michelle Hayes, SKH Human Resource Solution

Vice-Chair
Frank Pecoraro, Mulberry Farms

Treasurer
Peter Richardson, RM Davis, Inc.

Board Members:

John Bennett, Oakhurst Dairy
Kevin Carleton, Reflexis Systems, Inc.
Bruce Daman, Hannaford Supermarkets
Jim Darroch
Jason Fournier, BerryDunn
Barbara Gagne
Scott Maker, UNUM
John Nutting
David Reifschneider
Christopher Rogers, Raymond James
Victoria W. Rogers, MD, Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital
Ben Sprague, First National Bank
Dyana Tull, Retail Business Services, LLC
Bill Williamson, Bank of America

For marketing and media inquiries please contact:

Jessica Donahue, Marketing and Communications Manager, jdonahue@gsfb.org

 

 

For human resources inquiries please contact:

Nicole Nadeau, Director of Human Resources  nnadeau@gsfb.org

For operations inquiries please contact:

Sam Michaud, Director of Facilities  smichaud@gsfb.org