About Us

Our Mission

The mission of Good Shepherd Food Bank is to eliminate hunger in Maine by sourcing and distributing nutritious food to people in need, building strong community partnerships, and mobilizing the public in the fight to end hunger.

Our CORE VALUES guide our work & how we conduct ourselves as we strive to achieve our mission:

  • Collaboration: We value all our partners in the fight to end hunger, knowing that we are stronger together.
  • Innovation & creativity: We strive to constantly evolve and evaluate, so we may implement the most effective strategies to achieve our mission.
  • Compassion & respect: We value and hold in high regard our staff, volunteers, partners, donors, and most importantly, the people in need for whom we work.
  • Integrity: We recognize that we are stewards of others’ gifts.  We take this responsibility seriously and conduct all business with fairness and transparency.
  • Passion: We do this work with a shared passion based on our various personal and religious beliefs, knowing that no one should face the day hungry.

Eliminating Hunger in Maine for 35 Years

The story of Good Shepherd Food Bank is one of small beginnings, but of consistent and impressive growth. In 1981, JoAnn and Ray Pike noticed the amount of food being wasted locally and soon after saw a newspaper article about a food bank in Kansas City.

Finding long-term solutions

In addition to distributing food to Mainers in need, the Food Bank is leading a statewide effort to combat the root causes of hunger by engaging in advocacy, nutrition education, and strategic partnerships. We welcome you to join us in this effort!

Current job openings at Good Shepherd Food Bank

When positions are available, they can be viewed here.

Testimonials

Our heartfelt thank you to the Good Shepherd Food Bank for its support of our nutrition program. Working together to support the nutritional needs of seniors has added to our ability to meet an important need in the lives of many older people. Supplying the freezer was so timely and very much appreciated, thank you!
With the Food Bank’s commitment to provide as much nutritious food as possible, we in turn can make that same commitment to our clients.
We love the Mainers Feeding Mainers program! Our clients constantly rant and rave about how lovely the produce is that we have at the pantry.
The state of Maine is extremely fortunate to have Good Shepherd Food Bank.
We depend heavily on Good Shepherd Food Bank for most of our food. Without Good Shepherd's deep discounts our funds would be exhausted on a regular basis.
Your organization saves us so much money! Your people are friendly and helpful. If you weren't around, we wouldn't be able to function.

Executive Leadership

Kristen Miale – President    kmiale@gsfb.org

Kathy Helming – Vice President of Community Partnerships   khelming@gsfb.org

Bryan O’Connor – Vice President of Finance & Administration boconnor@gsfb.org

Erin Fogg – Vice President of Development   efogg@gsfb.org

Matt Chin – Vice President of Supply Chain mchin@gsfb.org

 

For special events and fundraising inquiries please contact:

If you would like to host an event or fundraiser, please fill out this form and send to Julie Guerette.

Julie Guerette – Donor Engagement Manager   jguerette@gsfb.org

Melissa Huston – Community Engagement, Northern Maine  mhuston@gsfb.org

 

 

Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

Mike Harris, Risk Management Consulting
Chair

Michelle Hayes, Smith Kjeldgaard & Hayes-Human Resource Solutions
Vice Chair

Robert Moore, Goodwill Industries of Northern New England
Treasurer

Barbara Gagne, TD Bank
Secretary

Board Members:

John Bennett, Oakhurst Dairy
Kevin Carleton, Reflexis Systems, Inc.
Bruce Daman, Hannaford Supermarkets
Jim Darroch, Backyard Farms
Stacey Haskell, Bangor Savings Bank
John Nutting, Committee for Ranked Voting
Erik Olson, Farm Credit East
Victoria Rogers, M.D., Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital
Ben Sprague, First National Bank
Bill Williamson, Bank of America

For marketing and media inquiries please contact:

Clara McConnell, Director of Public Affairs  cmcconnell@gsfb.org

 

 

For human resources inquiries please contact:

Nicole Nadeau, Director of Human Resources  nnadeau@gsfb.org

For operations inquiries please contact:

Sam Michaud, Director of Facilities  smichaud@gsfb.org