About Us

Our Mission

The mission of Good Shepherd Food Bank is to eliminate hunger in Maine by sourcing and distributing nutritious food to people in need, building strong community partnerships, and mobilizing the public in the fight to end hunger.

Our CORE VALUES guide our work & how we conduct ourselves as we strive to achieve our mission:

  • Collaboration: We value all our partners in the fight to end hunger, knowing that we are stronger together.
  • Innovation & creativity: We strive to constantly evolve and evaluate, so we may implement the most effective strategies to achieve our mission.
  • Compassion & respect: We value and hold in high regard our staff, volunteers, partners, donors, and most importantly, the people in need for whom we work.
  • Integrity: We recognize that we are stewards of others’ gifts.  We take this responsibility seriously and conduct all business with fairness and transparency.
  • Passion: We do this work with a shared passion based on our various personal and religious beliefs, knowing that no one should face the day hungry.

Eliminating Hunger in Maine for 35 Years

The story of Good Shepherd Food Bank is one of small beginnings, but of consistent and impressive growth. In 1981, JoAnn and Ray Pike noticed the amount of food being wasted locally and soon after saw a newspaper article about a food bank in Kansas City.

Finding long-term solutions

In addition to distributing food to Mainers in need, the Food Bank is leading a statewide effort to combat the root causes of hunger by engaging in advocacy, nutrition education, and strategic partnerships. We welcome you to join us in this effort!

Current job openings at Good Shepherd Food Bank

When positions are available, they can be viewed here.

Executive Leadership

Kristen Miale – President    kmiale@gsfb.org

Kathy Helming – Vice President of Community Partnerships   khelming@gsfb.org

Bryan O’Connor – Vice President of Finance & Administration boconnor@gsfb.org

Erin Fogg – Vice President of Development   efogg@gsfb.org

Matt Chin – Vice President of Supply Chain mchin@gsfb.org

 

For donations and fundraising inquiries please contact:

Ethan Minton – Major Gifts Officer eminton@gsfb.org
Erin Yarema – Major Gifts Officer eyarema@gsfb.org

Melissa Huston – Community Engagement Officer mhuston@gsfb.org

Brian Arundel – Grant Program Manager barundel@gsfb.org

If you would like to host an event or fundraiser, please fill out this form and return it to Julie Guerette, Donor Engagement Manager

 

 

Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

Michelle Hayes, SKH Human Resource Solutions
Chair

Bruce Daman, Hannaford Supermarkets
Vice Chair

Robert Moore, BerryDunn
Treasurer

Barbara Gagne, TD Bank
Secretary

Board Members:

John Bennett, Oakhurst Dairy
Kevin Carleton, Reflexis Systems, Inc.
Jim Darroch, Backyard Farms
Jason Fournier, BerryDunn
Stacey Haskell, Bangor Savings Bank
Scott Maker, UNUM
John Nutting
Frank Pecoraro, Mulberry Farms
Peter Richardson, RM Davis, Inc.
Victoria W. Rogers, MD, Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital
Ben Sprague, First National Bank
Dyana Tull, Retail Business Services, LLC
Bill Williamson, Bank of America

For marketing and media inquiries please contact:

Clara McConnell, Director of Public Affairs  cmcconnell@gsfb.org

 

 

For human resources inquiries please contact:

Nicole Nadeau, Director of Human Resources  nnadeau@gsfb.org

For operations inquiries please contact:

Sam Michaud, Director of Facilities  smichaud@gsfb.org