About Us

Our Mission

The mission of Good Shepherd Food Bank is to eliminate hunger in Maine by improving access to nutritious food for people in need, building strong community partnerships, and mobilizing the public in the fight to end hunger.

Our CORE VALUES guide our work & how we conduct ourselves as we strive to achieve our mission:

  • Partnership: We endeavor to provide the best possible experience to everyone we engage with, basing interactions on a foundation of equity, integrity, and humility.
  • Agility: We promote an organizational culture that encourages new ideas, improvements, flexibility, and innovations, and turns challenges into opportunities.
  • Inclusion: We respect the breadth of life experiences across the communities we partner with, holding people struggling with hunger at the center of our decisions and actions.
Clients choose from fruit at a GSFB partner agency.

Eliminating Hunger in Maine for More Than 35 Years

The story of Good Shepherd Food Bank is one of small beginnings, but of consistent and impressive growth. In 1981, JoAnn and Ray Pike noticed the amount of food being wasted locally and soon after saw a newspaper article about a food bank in Kansas City.

Backyard Farms boxes of tomatoes in the GSFB warehouse.

Finding long-term solutions

In addition to distributing food to Mainers in need, the Food Bank is leading a statewide effort to combat the root causes of hunger by engaging in advocacy, nutrition education, and strategic partnerships. We welcome you to join us in this effort!

Current job openings at Good Shepherd Food Bank

When positions are available, they can be viewed here.

Excited volunteers give a thumbs up while inspecting donated food.

Executive Leadership

Learn more about our leadership team.

Kristen Miale – President
kmiale@gsfb.org

Matt Chin – Vice President of Supply Chain
mchin@gsfb.org
*sourcing contacts below

Shannon Coffin – Vice President of Community Partnerships
scoffin@gsfb.org

Erin Fogg – Vice President of Development
efogg@gsfb.org

Amy Regan Gallant – Vice President of Public Policy & Research
agallant@gsfb.org

Bryan O’Connor – Vice President of Finance & Administration
boconnor@gsfb.org

 

For donations and fundraising inquiries please contact:

Learn more about our Development Team.

Erin Peck Yarema – Director of Major & Planned Giving
eyarema@gsfb.org

Ethan Minton – Major Gifts Officer
eminton@gsfb.org

Courtney Holub – Major Gifts Officer
cholub@gsfb.org

Carol Miller – Major Gifts Officer
cmiller@gsfb.org

Robin McCarthy – Director of Donor Relations
rmccarthy@gsfb.org

For food industry donations and food sourcing information please contact:

Mary Crockett – Purchasing Manager
mcrockett@gsfb.org or (207) 782-3554 ext. 1146

Nancy Perry – Mainers Feeding Mainers Program Manager
nperry@gsfb.org or (207) 782-3554 ext. 1109

For guest speaker inquiries:

Are you looking to book a speaker for your event? Speaker Request Form

Are you looking to schedule a check presentation? Check Presentation Request Form

 

 

Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

Chair
Frank Pecoraro

Vice-Chair
Ben Sprague

Treasurer
Peter Richardson

Secretary
Scott Maker

Board Members:

John Bennett
Bruce Daman
Jim Darroch
Peter Forester
Jason Fournier
Barbara Gagne
Michelle Hayes
Dora Anne Mills, MD
Claudette Ndayininahaze
John Nutting
Victoria W. Rogers, MD
Kate Rush
Andrea Sockabasin
Dyana Tull
Bill Williamson

For marketing and media inquiries please contact:

Jessica Donahue – Director of Marketing and Communications
jdonahue@gsfb.org

 

 

For human resources inquiries please contact:

Nicole Nadeau – Director of Human Resources
nnadeau@gsfb.org

For operations inquiries please contact:

George Fox – Assistant Vice President of Supply Chain
gfox@gsfb.org