Skip to content

Partner Agencies

Good Shepherd Food Bank works with nearly 600 food assistance programs throughout Maine, from Kittery to Fort Kent, to help get food to Mainers at risk of going hungry.

Our network of over 600 partner agencies includes community food pantries, soup kitchens, senior centers, shelters, schools, and youth programs.

A volunteer gives cucumbers to a guest at the GSFB Food Mobile in Biddeford.

Your impact

29m

Meals distributed in 2022

600+

Partner agencies

42

Years of working to eliminate hunger

2.1m

Pounds of food sourced locally

100%

Dedicated to eliminating hunger

We make an impact

Explore our behind the scenes efforts to eliminate hunger in Maine.

Partner Agency Resources

Access informative guides, videos, and tips to best support your network with the option to download, print, and share with your team.

Food Map

With over 600 partners in Maine, there is likely to be help close by. Find food pantries, meal sites, shelters, and more with our Food Map.

Service Insights

The more we know about neighbors in our network, the more effectively we can measure our impact, allocate resources, and advocate on their behalf.

Food Safety Training

Good Shepherd Food Bank and its partner agencies are responsible for following standards of practice that ensure the safe and proper handling of donated food. Regular training of staff and volunteers and physical inspection of food handling practices enable our work to remain focused on our neighbor’s health and safety.

The Food Bank’s food safety training focuses on four topic areas:

  • Understanding the Importance of Food Safety and the Role We Play
  • Transporting and Receiving Products
  • Inspecting Products and Food Safety Recalls
  • How to Store Food Safely
Older Mainer looking through a shelf of canned goods.

Understanding Poverty and Compassionate Customer Care Training

Learn more about poverty and compassionate customer service through this training. You will deepen your understanding of poverty’s root causes and effects and learn how to provide a dignified experience for community members.

The Food Bank’s poverty training focuses on seven topic areas:

  • Asset-based Thinking
  • Poverty & Food Insecurity 101
  • Poverty Simulation Resources
  • Compassionate Customer Service
  • Preparing for Challenging Interactions
  • Compassion Fatigue and the Importance of Self-Care
  • Additional Resources and Further Reading

The Community Partnerships Team

Meet the team that supports our partner agencies. 

Community Resource Representatives:

Sarah Fuentes
Kennebec and Waldo Counties
sfuentes@gsfb.org or (207) 520-7667

Mary Turner
Knox, Lincoln, and Sagadahoc (+ Brunswick and Freeport) Counties
mturner@gsfb.org or (207) 346-0756

Shannon Rooney
Oxford and York Counties
srooney@gsfb.org or (207) 800-6436

Deb Gerow
Hancock, Southern Penobscot and Southern Washington Counties
dgerow@gsfb.org or (207) 577-5265

Lori Shaw
Cumberland County
lshaw@gsfb.org

Nicole Pelletier 
Androscoggin, Franklin, and Somerset Counties
npelletier@gsfb.org

Becky Crooker
Aroostook, Piscataquis, Northern Penobscot and Northern Washington Counties
bcrooker@gsfb.org

Jen MacDonald – Community Resources Manager
jmacdonald@gsfb.org or (207) 577-4393

Angie Adams – Community Resources Team Lead
aadams@gsfb.org or (207) 440-4121

Dawn DiFiore – Director of Community Partnerships
ddifiore@gsfb.org or (207) 344-1268

Shannon Coffin – VP of Community Partnerships
scoffin@gsfb.org or (207) 782-3554 ext.1163

Amber Brooks – Community Partnerships Assistant
abrooks@gsfb.org